Kind of sawdust to use in the North West

The International Compost Sanitation Forum and Message Board: Humanure Composting Around the World: Kind of sawdust to use in the North West
Author: Test2 (Test2)
Thursday, October 14, 2010 - 8:44 pm
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

[No profile available] Edit this post

Found this post - ands sounds like your situation:

"Author: Ken Warren
Saturday, August 09, 2003 - 3:18 am
My compost doesn't seem to be heating up. I have been using my sawdust toilet for a couple of months now and when I checked the temperature this morning the pile was 90F when the ambient temperature was 60F. I am thinking that it may be because I am using Doug fir sawdust as it is the only thing readily available. There is an old mill where there are old piles of sawdust but they probably contains pine, fir, and cedar. Has any one out there tried using Doug fir?
My commpost bin is about 4'x4'x4'and I am using weeds, dry grass, straw and hay as cover material
I spray it with water every few days and I emptyl the blucket after wrensing on to the pile. Should I try adding some fresh horse manure. There are also older manure piles (horse) if that would be better"

Author: Ken Warren
Saturday, August 09, 2003 - 3:18 am

My compost doesn't seem to be heating up. I have been using my sawdust toilet for a couple of months now and when I checked the temperature this morning the pile was 90F when the ambient temperature was 60F. I am thinking that it may be because I am using Doug fir sawdust as it is the only thing readily available. There is an old mill where there are old piles of sawdust but they probably contains pine, fir, and cedar. Has any one out there tried using Doug fir?
My commpost bin is about 4'x4'x4'and I am using weeds, dry grass, straw and hay as cover material