Dry sawdust in bucket

The International Compost Sanitation Forum and Message Board: Humanure Composting Around the World: Dry sawdust in bucket
Author: Joe Jenkins (Joe)
Thursday, January 01, 2009 - 8:30 pm
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

View profile or send e-mail Edit this post

Nice looking compost bins.

Author: Marc Van Hummelen (Rowan)
Tuesday, December 30, 2008 - 12:45 pm

Hello all, I wanted to give you a little update on my efforts to pump up the heat of my compost bin. It appears that kilndried sawdust is not a problem, a minimum of mass is the problem. I've been adding to the bin for 4,5 months and gradually the average temperature went up. Today, with an ambient temperature of -6C I measured +40C in the pile. Here's a link to some pictures I took today of my compost site: http://picasaweb.google.be/sorbusier/CompostBins?feat=directlink
Best wishes for 2009 to all of you. Marc

Author: Tassiejohn (Tassiejohn)
Wednesday, October 15, 2008 - 6:35 am

Marc, an excellent result! I've only recently got a thermometer. For the last couple of years I just worked on the principle that if it steams when I pull the cover material off it must be doing something!

Tuesday, October 14, 2008 - 7:02 am

John, I have finally discovered what was wrong: my thermometer got rusted on the inside and was stuck at 22C! I've paid 25 euro for the damn thing and it worked for about two weeks. Expensive is no guarantee for quality, I can guarantee you that. I thought I could stick my finger in the compost pile and feel for myself how warm it is, but uhm, no thanks anyway (little joke haha...). Marc

Sunday, October 12, 2008 - 5:46 am