Portable toilet in housetruck

The International Compost Sanitation Forum and Message Board: Humanure Composting Around the World: Portable toilet in housetruck
Author: Freth Stifter (Freth)
Saturday, March 21, 2009 - 11:34 am
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

View profile or send e-mail Edit this post

As a commercial truck driver, I live in an 18-wheeler truck. There are places in this country where there are no cities or toilets ... just wide-open country. Sometimes there are emergency situations (diarrhea) that require a toilet NOW! Sometimes you run out of hours and have to park and sleep with no facilities around. A bucket lined with a trash bag and a container of compost to cover it, works perfectly ... without all the smells normal in a truck using a chemical toilet. I put a zip tie on the bag and deposit it in the dumpster at the truck-stop.

Author: Joe Jenkins (Joe)
Monday, August 18, 2008 - 6:55 pm

That makes more sense.

Author: astar (Astar)
Thursday, August 14, 2008 - 5:29 am

[No profile available] Edit this post

Hi Joe,

I wouldn't feel ok about emptying into a dumpster. The cassette toilet is designed to empty into one of these:

http://www.lahaciendarvpark.com/images/amenities_dump.jpg

Not ideal, but getting there.

Author: Joe Jenkins (Joe)
Wednesday, August 13, 2008 - 3:31 pm

You can empty a sawdust toilet into a dumpster if you use a plastic bag liner that you can lift out of the toilet when full. This is not something I would recommend, because it creates waste, but you can have an odor-free, chemical-free toilet in a house truck this way.

Wednesday, August 13, 2008 - 7:20 am

Hi Alan,

I don't have any extra storage room when I'm travelling unfortunately. But the EM thing is interesting, I hadn't thought of that. That might work in some of the places where I can build humanure compost rather than just 'dumping' i.e. on other people's land.