CANADA

The International Compost Sanitation Forum and Message Board: Humanure Composting Around the World: CANADA
Author: Frankwork (Frankwork)
Monday, July 26, 2010 - 3:27 pm
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

View profile or send e-mail Edit this post

Toronto (GTA) Humanure composters wanted
I am a feature writer at the Toronto Star and I'm looking for humanure composters in Toronto or the GTA to interview for a feature story. Can you help?
Joseph Jenkins suggested I post my request here.
My e-mail address is fkopun@thestar.ca
Thank you!

Author: Tna4evr (Tna4evr)
Tuesday, December 08, 2009 - 1:34 pm

Thanks for the thread maintenance, Joe. You've allied some concerns about freezing piles and lower temperature piles.

I'm composting humanure with varied rates of success (all successes, I might add) on saturna island in southern British Columbia. While I am enthusiastic about the process and have been filling our humanure hacienda with local Doug Fir and Alder (the Alder breaks down beautifully), I'm still having a little trouble getting the temperature up above 130. I've started adding straw and fresh grass clippings to aerate the pile. In addition, we occasionally ad "nettle tea" to boost the nitrogen in the pile from time to time. This has all helped immeasurably, but winter rains and cold make it tricky.

I wouldn't be overly concerned about getting a hot pile going if it weren't for the mice that were digging into the top of the pile. For warmth, or food, or both. That in and of itself is not a large concern, but there are also mice in our outdoor kitchen and the cat periodically brings them into our bed. I've put hardware cloth on the sides and base of the hacienda walls in an attempt to deter this problem, but they do seem to be tenacious. (They have no problems getting through the cat door without the cats help.)