MACEDONIA - sticks and chutes

The International Compost Sanitation Forum and Message Board: Humanure Composting Around the World: MACEDONIA - sticks and chutes
Author: Makedon (Makedon)
Thursday, February 24, 2011 - 2:24 pm
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

[No profile available] Edit this post

Thanks for the reply, guys. I thought you filled the cover buckets separately. It seems I am the laziest here, trying to save me the extra trip to the bins. There is also another advantage to using the same buckets for cover material: unlike the old days (when I had separate buckets for cover) my buckets haven't developed an odor, even though I've been using the same set for more than 4 years now.

Regarding cold weather: winters have been quite mild here for the past few years, so I abandoned the practice of bringing in enough sawdust for the winter.

About the bins. I really want to know how long do your bins last. My bins have always readily fallen apart from all that rotting going on inside them. I am trying to figure out how to make them more durable. Your input would be much appreciated.

cheers

Author: Danilo (Danilo)
Tuesday, February 22, 2011 - 1:27 pm

View profile or send e-mail Edit this post

I bring my cover material separately. I have two bucket, when is one empty, I take another. Empty one I fill right away or later if weather is bed or I am lazy :-)

Author: Joe (Joe)
Monday, February 21, 2011 - 10:36 am

View profile or send e-mail Edit this post

Thanks for all the thoughts, info and good vibes, Makedon. Yes, it can be lonely being on the forefront of things, but that's life.