Grey Water in cold climate

The International Compost Sanitation Forum and Message Board: General Composting Issues: Grey Water in cold climate
Author: Tina Little (Tinad773)
Saturday, August 16, 2008 - 2:03 pm
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

View profile or send e-mail Edit this post

I have a question about greywater that doesn't really relate to the subject! My question is, is there a way to "clean" the greywater so that it can be returned to the house to be reused for showers, washing dishes, etc!! Not drinking though! Please advise!

Thank you,
tinad

Author: TCLynx (Tclynx)
Thursday, November 22, 2007 - 8:17 pm

I might avoid the railway ties if you don't already have them on site, just due to the nasty stuff that oozes out of em.

The best grey water systems I know of are the simplest ones. Your leaching box will probably work, I'm not an expert. If you are interested in ways to re-use the water you might concider running a large hose out to empty into mulch pits around trees and shrubs that need water durring the warmer months and just using the box when the plants don't need it or in the winter.

Author: Joe Jenkins (Joe)
Saturday, November 03, 2007 - 1:07 pm

The system you're using is similar to what the
Amish have done in western PA for generations. It doesn't seem to have been a problem for them or anyone else.

Author: Lisa Early (Lisarisa)
Thursday, November 01, 2007 - 12:05 pm