Large Scale Composting Toilets

The International Compost Sanitation Forum and Message Board: General Composting Issues: Large Scale Composting Toilets
Author: Hamish (Hamish)
Sunday, May 04, 2014 - 10:55 am
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

View profile or send e-mail Edit this post

hi there folks. We are doing 1050 compost loos at glastonbury festival in uk this year. The festival has 280,000 people for 6 days..

Author: Ecointerest (Ecointerest)
Tuesday, April 17, 2012 - 4:18 pm

Julian, I really do wish you well with your efforts. If I was a farmer, in a similar situation, the Humanure method would be the ONLY system of composting toilet I would allow on my land.
On top of that, I would arrange talks, teach-ins, etc., for groups of people, including (particularly) children, with the farmer, to demonstrate the proper use and function of the Humanure system.
Have a computer running Joe's videos, full-time during the gathering, if Joe is agreeable, so that people can really understand the whole process.

Author: Julan (Julan)
Tuesday, April 17, 2012 - 10:59 am

I am organsing an event in South Africa that is truly environmentally sound. At present there are NO events in this country that have compost toilets on a large scale and I need advice and ideas about this. Many farmers will not consider compost toilets and demand portaloo chemical toilets.
The farm I am working with has agreed to compost toilets, if
a) the waste is taken off site after the event
b) the waste is buried on site

Yet for me this seems to defeat some of the objective of a compost toilet system - which is to create compost
The event will also be creating its own permaculture gradens which the farm will have use of afterwards - the compost could be great for this after a year.

I need facts, figures, pictures and diagrams
Information to convince the farmer all will be well with compost toilets being left to stand covereed with straw after the event.