Shortening composting time

The International Compost Sanitation Forum and Message Board: Humanure Handbook - A Guide to Composting Human Manure: Shortening composting time
Author: taliesin
Sunday, September 01, 2002 - 7:00 pm
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

View profile or send e-mail Edit this post

I live in a small community and I am studying composting in an effort to convince my community to switch to composting everything, instead of the limited amount of "approved" materials we have been composting. Up to now, we have religiously excluded fats, oils, meats (considered the worst thing imaginable to place in a compost bin), cooked food, grains and, of coarse, human waste. The reasoning is usually given that these will draw rats. I have always thought it such a waste. My question is, when we expand our composting to include everything, including human waste, does it really have to age for a whole year? Our bins are medium sized and are composting fairly quickly as they are now used, with finished compost available after a two to three months of being filled. They also get quite hot, though I have not measured the temperature. And I live near Santa Cruz, California where there is no freezing of the compost ever. Would it not be safe to use the compost sooner than one year? Why the time limit of one year at all? Can't you tell when the compost is done by observing it? I also work at a restaurant as a waiter, and they are interested in reducing their garbage bill. If I could take their raw materials and add them to our bins, then our bins would fill up so fast that they would almost be "batch" bins. Would I still need to wait a year? I would like to know if there is anything I can do to help the compost be safe and ready to use in a few months after the bin is filled. The year long aging period may be enough for the fecophobia here to cancel the entire project. We have also been using a composting toilet which we are pla