Humanure composting in an apartment ...

The International Compost Sanitation Forum and Message Board: Humanure Handbook - A Guide to Composting Human Manure: Humanure composting in an apartment complex?
Author: Pamela Pollock
Saturday, September 28, 2002 - 4:04 pm
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

View profile or send e-mail Edit this post

I mistakenly attached this message to another topic as I am new to message board use. So I will retype my message from yesterday here. I am in the process of reading Humanure Handbook right now and am so excited to read it! We go to Burningman (an art event in the Nevada desert) every year for the last 3 years and have been composting our own poop and bringing it home in a 5 gal. bucket. Our urine goes in a separate container and gets dumped in their portolets. I have been adding worms and more compostables from the kitchen and more peat moss upon return home. I leave it all in the bucket for 6 months to a year and then put it around the shrubbery.
We manage an apartment complex in Mill Valley,CA. I would love to rip out our toilet, and put in a sawdust toilet or peat toilet. Any suggestions on how to compost all of our poop when we are apartment dwellers? How about big garbage cans on the patio? ( I currently compost all of our kitchen scraps, 2-3 lbs. daily in two worms bins and one big garbage can on the patio.) Could I add our poop to that? I think if I added the urine it would get too wet and run out of the holes in the bottom of the garbage can. HELP! I feel so guilty now every time I use our flush toilet! Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Author: stephen
Saturday, September 28, 2002 - 10:12 pm

[No profile available] Edit this post

You could add a humanure compost bin to your home. I would keep your vermiculture bin to take care of your kitchen scraps and add an additional humanure bin for yourself and company.