HUMANURE HANDBOOK, 3RD EDITION

The International Compost Sanitation Forum and Message Board: Humanure Handbook - A Guide to Composting Human Manure: HUMANURE HANDBOOK, 3RD EDITION
Author: Joe (Joe)
Sunday, December 27, 2009 - 5:56 pm
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

View profile or send e-mail Edit this post

I agree that fears of graywater are way overblown and that the literature on the subject at the time I wrote the book seemed a bit hysterical about the subject. I was only quoting my sources.

Author: John_ratford (John_ratford)
Sunday, December 27, 2009 - 3:54 am

I very much enjoyed the book and now feel confident and enthused to set up my own humanure composting. (The other deciding factor was that my deposit on Christmas morning blocked up the toilet for the whole day. I fear this incident, and the various attempts to dislodge it will become a legend in the household, and is best not repeated.) As an ex-environmental biologist, I had a few quibbles with some facts, but the arguments are absolutely compelling. If I may be critical, I thought you went overboard on the safety measures for graywater (Pathogens p211): don't come into physical contact with your own bathwater?! The figures you quote for coliforms in graywater are a tenth of the safety level for swimming water on the previous page. (The graywater with household garbage must have had some particularly nasty stuff in it to give such a high figure) So thanks for such a positive and entertaining book.

Author: Joe (Joe)
Tuesday, December 15, 2009 - 5:55 pm

The first edition is the worst of the three and is worth replacing with a 3rd edition copy.

Author: Jofo (Jofo)
Wednesday, December 09, 2009 - 4:35 pm