Salt in kitchen scraps and urine

The International Compost Sanitation Forum and Message Board: Humanure Handbook - A Guide to Composting Human Manure: Salt in kitchen scraps and urine
Author: Knothead (Knothead)
Wednesday, May 16, 2012 - 11:33 am
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

View profile or send e-mail Edit this post

I actually had a nice little crop of potatoes this year. They weren't salty though. :-)

Author: Ecointerest (Ecointerest)
Tuesday, May 15, 2012 - 6:20 pm

Just had a funny thought, Knothead. Maybe you could grow a packet of potato chips already salted!

But don't tell the competitors, they will want to buy your patent!

Author: Knothead (Knothead)
Monday, May 14, 2012 - 7:13 pm

I've been composting intensively for about four years. I have always composted my kitchen scraps as well as the scraps from a couple of neighbors.
Like Ken, I also use biochar. Mine is mostly added to the compost through the humanure in that I mix it with my sawdust.
I live on the water on the Gulf coast and have had salt water inundate my entire yard on at least two occasions.
My yard consists pretty much of what it was built of. Dredged Florida bay bottom. I add my compost to the sandy soil mostly by making beds or by digging holes to plant trees. I also use it to fertilize the existing trees.
I really can't imagine that any table salt in the compost would even hold a candle to what the soil has already had to deal with.
I also think that it must dissolve and rinse out of the soil if there is too much of it.
Now I don't know if it's the improved soil or if I'm finally getting the hang of growing stuff, but I've had a pretty nice vegetable garden for the first time this year.

Author: Ken (Ken)
Sunday, May 13, 2012 - 9:57 am

Oops, sorry for the double post.

Saturday, May 12, 2012 - 9:50 pm

Thank you Ken and Demeter. This is the sort of thread, exchanging information, which helps enormously.

Saturday, May 12, 2012 - 9:43 pm