A few questions posed to the group

The International Compost Sanitation Forum and Message Board: Humanure Handbook - A Guide to Composting Human Manure: A few questions posed to the group
Author: Timothy Ryan Picco
Wednesday, February 13, 2002 - 5:21 pm
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

[No profile available] Edit this post

Hey humanure lovers. I'm a student at the evergreen state college, who is doin a project on the feasibility of humanure, as the main on-farm fertilizer in a "closed-system" farm. Using the nutritional requirements(protiens, calories, vitamins, amino acids ect.) for certain diets, their vegetable equivalents, and the the average yields given given for each crop in Jon Jeavon's book, some friends and I designed a bio-intensive farm that would produce all the veggies, grain, fruit, honey, and canola oil a person would require for a year o' life. We figured that we had the compost growing on the farm as food scraps and green manure, but we couldn't think of an abundant and inexhaustible source of fertilizer that was to be found on the farm. Personally, I would employ some animals to lend a helping hand or hoof to this cause, but in this farm design, we were working without them. In the end, the fertilizer source was coming in off the farm. Presently, i'm looking to the unrealized realm of poo for the answer to my fertilizer problem. My project and questions are still young, but here they are.